Contact Information

We Are Available 24/ 7. Call Now.


Standard Bank Group was on Wednesday named African Bank of the Year by a leading publication in recognition of the banking giant’s achievements in fighting the Covid-19 pandemic and empowering women.

African Banker ( magazine announced the winners of its 2021 Awards at a virtual ceremony held on the side-lines of the African Development Bank’s 2021 Annual Meetings. The African Development Bank is a high patron of the event.

The 2021 virtual event featured performances by African diva Angelique Kidjo and Adina, a Ghanaian-South African singer.

The award for African Banker of the Year went, for the second consecutive year, to Hebert Wigwe, Managing Director and co-founder of Access Bank Group, which has grown rapidly to become one of the largest retail banks in Africa over the last decade, with over 40 million customers.

The 2021 edition of the awards set out to recognize institutions that have contributed to women’s empowerment on the continent and to the real economy, which has suffered from the impact of Covid-19.

Morocco’s Minister of Economy and Finance, Mohammed Benchaâboun, was named Finance Minister of the Year in recognition of his ministry’s exemplary response to the economic crisis brought on by the Covid-19 pandemic.

Omar Ben Yedder, Group Publisher of African Banker, commended the banking sector for its responsiveness to clients’ needs, and for setting up gender programs, supporting women-led businesses and promoting women within their organizations.

“Fintechs are really the flavour of the year and we’ve seen plenty of money from venture capital, from private equity wealth, going into the fintech space in Egypt, Kenya and in Nigeria, and to some extent crypto and blockchain, although those are at very early stages,” Ben Yedder said.

The continued strength and resilience of the banking sector would be critical to support economic recovery from the pandemic across Africa, he said.

Complete list of 2021 African Banker Award winners:

Sustainable bank of the year

Commercial International Bank (CIB) Egypt


Infrastructure deal of the year


Tanzania Standard Gauge Railway $1.46bn loan facility


Nedbank | Standard Chartered | TDB


Deal of the year – Equity


Privatization of Afam Power Plc and Afam Three Fast Power Ltd




Deal of the year – Debt


African Export-Import Bank, COVID-19 Support Facility


MUFG Bank, Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group


Award for financial inclusion


Trust Merchant Bank, DRC


African Banker Icon


Charlie Robertson, Chief Economist, Renaissance Capital


Finance Minister of the year


H.E Mohammed Benchaâboun, Minister for Economy and Finance, Morocco


Award for Innovation for Financial Services


Bank of Industry, Government Enterprise Empowerment Programme


Energy deal of the year


Nkhotakota Solar Power Plant in Malawi / 7.5 MW Solar PV Power Plant in Burundi


African Trade Insurance Agency (ATI)


Agriculture deal of the year


$400m Revolving Trade Finance Facility in favour of ETC Group


African Export-Import Bank (Afreximbank)


African SME Bank of the Year




Best Regional Bank in Africa


North: Attijariwafa Bank, Morocco


West: Banque de Développement du Mali


East: Equity Bank, Kenya


Central: BGFI, Gabon


Southern: Mozabanco, Mozambique


Investment Bank of the Year




Central Bank Governor of the Year


H.E. Lesetja Kganyago, Governor Reserve Bank of South Africa


Lifetime Achievement


Felix Bikpo


African Bank of the Year


Standard Bank Group


African Banker of the Year


Herbert Wigwe, Group CEO, Access Bank









Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *